Mar 02, 2024  
CSU Maritime Academy 2023-2024 Catalog 
    
CSU Maritime Academy 2023-2024 Catalog

Fee Policy



Fee Policy Academic Year 2023-2024 

Schedule of Tuition and Fees - 2023/24

The CSU makes every effort to keep student costs to a minimum. Tuition and fees listed in published schedules or student accounts may need to be increased when public funding is inadequate. Therefore, CSU reserves the right, even after initial payments are made, to increase or modify any listed tuition or fees. All listed fees, other than mandatory systemwide tuition, are subject to change without notice, until the date when instruction for a particular semester or quarter has begun. All CSU-listed tuition and fees should be regarded as estimates that are subject to change upon approval by the Board of Trustees, the chancellor or the presidents, as appropriate. Changes in mandatory systemwide tuition will be made in accordance with the requirements of the Working Families Student Fee Transparency and Accountability Act (Sections 66028 trhough 66028.6 of the California Education Code).

The following reflects applicable systemwide tuition and fees for both semester and quarter universities.

These rates are subject to change.

 

All Students

Application Fee (nonrefundable), payable online at the tie of application via credit card, e-check ro PayPal: $70

2023-24 Tuition and Fees

Undergraduate Tuition and Fees Fall 2023  Spring 2024 Per Academic Year
6.1 or more units $4,336 $4,619 $8,955
0 to 6.0 units $1,665 $1,665 $3,330

Tuition and fees for summer are not included in this calculation: Please check the Schedule of Fees for a complete list.

Post-Baccalaureate Fall 2023 Spring 2024 Per Academic Year 
6.1 or more units $5,053 $5,336 $12,936
0 to 6.0 units $2,082 $4,164 $6,246

 

Tuition and fees for summer are not included in this calculation: Please check the Schedule of Fees for a complete list.

Nonresident Students (U.S. and Foreign)

Nonresident Tuition (in addition to basic tuition and other systemwide fees charged all students) for all CSUs:

  Semester
Charge Per Unit $396

Tuition and fees for summer are not included in this calculation: Please check the Schedule of Fees for a complete list.

 

The total nonresident tuition paid per term will be determined by the number of units taken.

Mandatory systemwide tuition is waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the California Education Code(see section on fee waivers).

 

Campus based-Fees

In addition to tuition fees and other systemwide fees, students enrolled in a degree program at Cal Maritime pay the following fees: Housing, Food Service, Health Services, Health Facility, Parking, Associated Student Body, Instructionally Related Activity, Campus Document, Recreation, Medical Insurance A & B and specific course and laboratory fees determined by courses taken. Current charges for registration related fees can be viewed each year in the Schedule of Fees document posted at: https://www.csum.edu/web/fiscal-services/fees-tuition-and-charges.

In addition, there may be other fees charged by third parties for licenses and exams that are requirements of degree programs. Also, certain departments may make assessments of varying amounts for equipment and facilities, loss, damage, breakage, waste of materials and for late payments or late registration.

Medical Insurance is a requirement for all students enrolled in a degree program at Cal Maritime. All students meeting the enrollment eligibility requirements are charged for Medical Insurance A & B. Please see the Medical Insurance Handbook for more information.

Students who have private medical insurance with sufficient coverage to meet the minimum requirements established by Cal Maritime may complete a medical insurance fee waiver online to request a waiver for Part A. Medical Insurance B cannot be waived. Visit the Student Health Center page for more information. There are strict deadlines for this request.

If the Medical Insurance A fee waiver is approved, a credit to the student’s account will be made. Students who withdraw from Cal Maritime by the policy’s deadline and who have not used the Cal Maritime policy prior to withdrawal will also receive a credit for this fee. Students who request a refund or withdraw after the Cal Maritime policy deadline will be referred to Student Health Services at 707-654-1170.

Two Dining Plans for all Resident Cadets - Effective Fall 2023

All resident Cadet meal plan accounts are now  a “Declining Cash Balance (DCB)” account program.  A DCB will function like a debit card and can be used to purchase individual food items sold in The Marketplace, and wherever food is sold on campus. Food items will be priced “per package” or “per pound” and the total price will be deducted from your card.  If your account drops below $500, you will be able to add money in $50 increments.  All cash has a 1:1 ratio.  Dining Services will have 5-Day or 7-Day Meal Plans.

Fee Waivers and Exemptions

The California Education Code provides for the waiver of mandatory systemwide tuition and fees as summarized below:

Military

Section 66025.3 - Dependents eligible to received assistance under Article 2 of Chapter 4 of Division 4 of the Military and Veterans Code; child of any veteran of the United States military who has a service-connected disability, has been killed in service, or has died of a service-connected disability, and meets specified income provisions; dependent, or surviving spouse who has not remarried of any memer of the California Natinoal Guard wo, in the lined of duty, and while in the active service of the state, was killed, died of a disability resulting form an event that occurred while inthe active service of state, or is permanently disabled as a result of an event that occurred while in the active service of the state; and undergraduate student who is a recipient of a Medal of Honor, or undergraduate student who is a child of a recipient of a Medal of Hnor who is no more than 27 years old, meets the income restriction and California residency requirement.

Foster Youth

Current or fomer foster youth who are 25 years of age or younger; have been in foster care for at least 12 consecutive months

 

Section 66602 - A qualifying student from the California State University is appointed by the Governor to serve as Trustee of the California State University for the duration of his or her term of office.

Section 68120 - Surviving spouse or child of a deceased California resident who was employed by a public agency, or was a contractor or an employee of a contractor or an employee of a contractor, performing service for a public agency, and was killed in the performance of his/her principal duties of active law enforcement or fire suppression and prevention duties (referred to as Alan Pattee Scholarships). A person qualifies for the waiver under this section as a surviving child of a contractor or of an employee of a contractor, who performed services for a public agency must have enrolled as an undergraduate student at the California State Univesity and meets income restriction requirement.

Section 68121 - A qualifying student enrolled in an undergraduate program who is the surviving dependent of any individual killed in the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center in New York City, the Pentagon building in Washington, D.C., or the crash of United Airlines Flight 93 in southwestern Pennsylvania, if the student meets the financial need requirements set forth in Section 69432.7 for the Cal Grant A Program and either the surviving dependent or the individual killed in the attacks was a resident of California on September 11, 2001. Student who may qualify for these benefits should contact the Admissions/Registrar’s Office for further information and/or an eligibility determination.

The California Education Code provides for the following nonresident tuition exemptions:

Section 68075.7 - A nonresident students is exempt from paying nonresident tuition or any other fee that is exclusively applicable to nonresident students if  the student (1) resides in California, (2) meets the definition of “covered individual” as defined in either: (A) Section 3679(c)(2)(A) or (B)(ii)(l) of Title 38 of the United States Code, as that provision read on January 1, 2017; or (B) Section 3679(c)(2)(B)9(i) or (ii)(II) or Title 38 of the United States Code, as that provision read on January 1, 2017; and (3) is eligible for education benefits under either the federal Montgomery GI Bill-Active Duty program or the Post-9/11 GI Bill program as each read on  January 1, 2017.

Section 68122 -  A student who is a victim of trafficking, domestic violence, and other serious crimes who has been granted T or U visa status are exempt from paying nonresident tuition if they (1) attended high school in California for three or more years; (2) graduated from a California high school or attained the equivalent; and (3) registered as an entering student or are currently enrolled at a CSU campus.

Section 68130.5 - A student, other than a nonimmigrant alien, who is not a resident of California is exempt from paying nonresident tuition if the student meets the requirements of (1) through (4), below:

(1) Satisfaction of the requirements of either subparagraph (A) or subparagraph (B):

(A) A total attendance of, or attainment of credits earned while in California equivalent to, three or more years of full-time attendance or attainment of credits at any of the following:

(i) California high schools.

(ii) California high schools established by the State Board of Education.

(iii) California adult schools established by a county office of education, a unified school district or high school district, or the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (subject to the class hours’ requirement).

(iv) Campuses of the California Community Colleges (subject to the credit requirements).

(v) A combination of those schools set forth in clauses (i) to (iv), inclusive.

(B) Three or more years of full-time high school coursework, and a total of three or more years of attendance in California elementary schools, California secondary schools, or a combination of California elementary and secondary schools.

(2) Satisfaction of any of the following:

(A) Graduation from a California high school or attainment of the equivalent thereof.

(B) Attainment of an associate degree from a campus of the California Community Colleges.

(C) Fulfillment of the minimum transfer requirements established for the California State University for students transferring from a campus of the California Community Colleges.

(3) Registration as an entering student at, or current enrollment at, an accredited institution of higher education in California not earlier than the fall semester or quarter of the 2001-02 academic year.

(4) In the case of a person without lawful immigration status, the filing of an affidavit with the institution of higher education stating that the student has filed an application to legalize his or her immigration status, or will file an application as soon as he or she is eligible to do so.

Students who believe they may qualify for these benefits should contact the Registrar’s Office for further information and an eligibility determination.

Payment of Fees and Other University Charges

Students can view e-Bills and pay fees, tuition and charges online through Transact Payments.  Students will receive an email message from studentaccounts@csum.edu when new statements are available to view.

If you would like a parent or other responsible party to receive notices, you can setup a login for them on the “Your Account” page under “Parent PINs”. Be sure to include their email address and check the box that allows them to receive billing notifications. When a statement is ready to view, each of you will receive an email notification.

 

The fee due date for each semester will be posted in advance on the website.  You are responsible for confirming your enrollment by remitting your payment by the due date. A hold will be placed on your account to prevent further enrollment activity and your meal card can be temporarily inactivated until payment is made. 

All fees must be submitted to the campus Cashier’s Office by the published semester fee due date. After this date, all new fees and other charges posted to the student account are due within 24 hours after assessment.

Students adding courses after the semester’s posted “Last Day to Add” period may be required to remit payment before registering for new courses.

Payment Options

  • E-check (electronic check) payments are made online by following the link on Cal Maritime’s website (https://commerce.cashnet.com/csumpay) or through Online Services. There is no fee to make a payment online by e-check.
  • Credit/Debit Card payments are accepted online only by following the link (https://commerce.cashnet.com/csumpay) or through Online Services. All credit and debit card payments must be processed online. A convenience fee is assessed by the third party vendor who processes credit/debit card payments. Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover bank credit cards may be used for payment of student fees. We accept VISA, MasterCard, American Express Credit/Debit card payments online (a service fee of 2.65% is charged by the 3rd party provider).  

Check or money order payments mailed should be addressed to:

Attn: Cashier

CSU Maritime Academy
200 Maritime Academy Drive
Vallejo, CA 94590-8181

In order to ensure payments are received and posted to your account by the fee due date, please mail payments at least 10 business days prior to the due date.

Check, money order or cash payments are accepted at the campus Cashier’s Office.

An approved Installment Payment Plan may be submitted with the required deposit and administrative fee each semester by the published due date. An application form and eligibility requirements are available from Cal Maritime’s web site.

  • Payment for the amount of fees equal to the anticipated financial aid for the semester may be deferred. To be eligible, a student must apply for financial aid and complete all paperwork (applications, promissory notes, tax records, pre-loan counseling, fee waiver forms, third party sponsor authorizations, etc.), clear all holds, and be enrolled in the units necessary to qualify for the aid award prior to the fee due date. If the anticipated aid is not sufficient to cover all fees, the student must remit payment for the remainder by the fee due date.
  • A student requesting deferred payment on the basis of anticipated financial aid but who is not certified by the Financial Aid office by the fee due date may have his/her enrollment canceled. Upon completion of Financial Aid certification, the student may re-enroll, subject to class availability, when registration re-opens for the semester. A late registration and late payment fee will be assessed. If a financial aid award or other third party sponsorship is changed or disallowed, the student is immediately responsible for payment in full.
  • Payments returned by the bank for any reason are subject to an administrative fee. A returned payment will be considered the same as no payment. Students who have a payment returned by the bank are required to pay by cash, certified check, money order or online by credit card.

Fees and Debts Owed to the Institution

Should a student or former student fail to pay a fee or a debt owed to the institution, Cal Maritime may “withhold permission to register, to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged, to receive services, materials, food or merchandise or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt” until the debt is paid (Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Section 42380 and 42381).

Students and prospective students who register for courses offered by the university are obligated for the payment of fees associated with registration for those courses. Failure to cancel registration in any course for an academic term prior to the first day of the academic term gives rise to an obligation to pay student fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course.

The institution may withhold permission to register or to receive official transcripts of grades or other services offered by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution. The institution may also report the debt to a credit bureau, offset the amount due against any future state tax refunds due the student, refer the debt to an outside collection agency and/or charge the student actual and reasonable collection costs, including reasonable attorney fees if litigation is necessary, in collecting any amount not paid when due.

The institution may not withhold an official transcript of grades by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution (see Title 1.6C.7 (commencing with Section 1788.90) Part 4 of Division 3 of the Civil Code). The institution can still charge a fee for the issuance of the transcript pursuant to their published transcript processing fees.

If a person believes he or she does not owe all or part of an asserted unpaid obligation, that person may contact the Accounting Office. The Accounting Office will review all pertinent information provided by the person and available to the campus and will advise the person of its conclusions. In all cases, it is important to act in a timely manner when requesting a review of debts and possible refunds.

Consequences of Non-Compliance

Fees must be submitted to the Cashier’s Office using one of the approved payment methods listed under Payment Options by the fee due date. After the due date, students with outstanding balances are subject to cancellation of their enrollment. The student may re-enroll when registration re-opens for the semester, subject to class availability. A late registration and late payment fee will be assessed. Meal plans may be deactivated until the account is no longer delinquent. In the event of deactivation due to non-payment of fees, the plan charge will not be prorated for the time that meal service was suspended.

If a student on an Installment Payment Plan misses a scheduled payment, the student is subject to a late payment fee and will be subject to cancellation of enrollment. Also, the student will not be eligible for future installment payment plans.

In accordance with Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Section 42380 and 42381, it is the policy of Cal Maritime that any student with a balance due will not be allowed to register for classes, take final exams, receive grades, receive official transcripts of grades, participate in any cruise, undergo the selection process for commercial cruise, or benefit from the other services offered by the institution.

If a student or former student leaves Cal Maritime with unpaid fees or fines that remain due, those amounts will automatically convert to a student loan on the last day of the semester that the student last attended. The loan is due and payable to Cal Maritime no later than June 30th of the academic year that the student last attended.

In addition, Cal Maritime may offset refunds to financial aid recipients if funds are required to be returned to the financial aid programs as a result of dropped units or a withdrawal from Cal Maritime.

Cancellation of Registration or Withdrawal from Cal Maritime

Students who find it necessary to cancel their registration or to withdraw from all classes after enrolling for any academic term are required to follow the University’s official withdrawal procedures. Failure to follow formal University procedures may result in an obligation to pay fees as well as the assignment of failing grades in all courses and the need to apply for readmission before being permitted to enroll in another academic term. Information on canceling registration and withdrawal procedures is available from the Office of the Registrar, Mayo Hall, (707) 654-1203.

Students who receive financial aid funds must consult with the Financial Aid Office prior to withdrawing from the university regarding any required return or repayment of grant or loan assistance received for that academic term or payment period. Students who have received financial aid and withdraw from the institution during the academic term or payment period may need to return or repay some or all of the funds received, which may result in a debt owed to the institution.

The most current information can be found at the Office of the Registrar website or the Office of Financial Aid website.

Refund Policy

Refund of Tuition and Mandatory Fees, Including Nonresident Tuition

Regulations governing the refund of mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition and tuition assistance for students enrolling at the CSU are included in Section 41802 of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. For purposes of the refund policy, mandatory fees are defined as those systemwide and campus fees that are required to be paid in order to enroll in state-supported academic programs at the California State University Maritime Academy. Refunds of fees and tuition charges for self-support, special session, and Professional and Continuing Education (PaCE)  programs or courses at the CSU are governed by a separate policy established by the University, available at Extended Learning.

In order to receive a full refund of tuition and mandatory fees, including nonresident tuition, less an administrative charge established by the university, a student must cancel registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. Information on procedures and deadlines for canceling registration and dropping classes is available on the Financial Services webpage.

When a student requests a refund or withdrawas from Cal Maritime, an audit is made on the account to verify the actual amount that should be returned. Any refund due back to a student is applied first towards any required return of student financial aid funds from federal, state, institutional, or external sources, then towards any outstanding fees or debts to California State University Maritime Academy. Any remaining balance may be returned to the student or to the parents if the balance is the result of a parent’s PLUS loan.

Credit balances of less than $10.00 will not be refunded, unless those balances are the result of a federal financial aid distribution. Information concerning any apsect of the refund of tuition and fees may be obtained from the Cashier’s Office.

Refund of tuition and fees does not constitute formal withdrawal from Cal Maritime. To withdraw formally, a student must contact the Office of the Registrar and file a University Withdrawal form.

Withdrawal from the University

Full Refund: In order to received a full refund of mandatory fees, less an administrative charge established by the campus,including nonresident tuition, a student must cancel registration or drop all courses, and officially withdraw from the University prior to the first day of instruction of the term. Information on procedures and deadlines for canceling registration and dropping classes is available at the Office of the Registrar.

Pro-Rata Refund: The pro-rata refund is determined on the basis of the data of the student’s withdrawal and the length of the academic period. The length of the academic period is calculated from the first day of instruction through the final exam day of the period and excludes any breaks of five (5) days or more.

No student withdrawing after the 60 percent point in the term will be entitled to a refund of any mandatory fees and/or non-resident tuition.

Example: The first day of instruction for the fall semester is August 27, the final day of the exam period is December 14, and there are no breaks longer than 4 days. the length of the academic period is 110 days. The sixty percent point in the term is day 66 which falls on October 31. No student who withdraws after October 31 is entitled to a refund. If a student withdraws on October 31, the campus has “earned” sixty percent of the student’s fees and the student is entitled to refund of forty percent of the applicable tuition and mandatory fees less an administrative charge established by the campus.

Financial aid students who wish to cancel their registration or withdraw from all classes after receiving financial adi funds must contact the Office of Financial Aid. Withdrawal from the University during an academic erm or a payment period, may require students to return and/or repay the amount of grant or loan assistance received. Following the federal regulations, all refunds will be credit back to the appropriate Title IV Financial Aid programs that were used to pay University charges.

Late Application of Refunds

Title V of the California Code of Regulations provides for late application of refunds under the following circumstances:

  • The tuition and fees were assessed or collected in error;
  • The course or courses for which the tuition fees was assessed or collected was canceled by the university.
  • The university makes a delayed decision that a student was not eligible to enroll in the term for which tuition and mandatory fees were assessed and collected and the delayed decision was not due to a student not providing completed or accurate information; or 
  • The student was activated for compulsory military service.

Students who are not entitled to a refund as described above may petition the university for a refund demonstration exceptional circumstances. The Registration Appeals Committee will review and make a recommendation to authorized a refund if the Committee determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the University.

Students must submit the following documents to the Cashier’s Office to justify late request for a refund:

  1. Petition for Waiver of Financial Regulations*
  2. Refund Request for Tuition and Registration Fees
  3. Written documentation to support the request

*Note:  The Petition for Waiver of Financial Regulations is applicable for the current semester only and the petition may be reviewed only for up to one year from the last day of the semester/session identified in the petition.

 

RETURN OF UNEARNED TUITION ASSISTANCE 

When a student withdraws, the student may no longer be eligible for the full amount of tuition assistance funds originally awarded. In compliance with the Department of Defense policy, California State University Maritime Academy will return any unearned tuition assistance funds on a prorate basis through at least the 60% portion of the the period for which the funds were provided. Tuition assistance funds are earned proportionally during an enrollment period, with unearned funds returned based upon when a student stops attending. These funds are returned to the military Service branch.

When a Service member stops attending due to a military service obligation, CSU Maritime Academy will work with the affected Service member to identify solutions that will not result in student debt for the returned portion.

Course Fee Refunds

All course fee refunds require the student to officially drop the course either through PeopleSoft Online Services or the Office of the Registrar. Any fees owed to Cal Maritime and any returns to financial aid will first be deducted from the credit balance. Any remaining credit balance on the student’s account will be refunded unless the student requests that the credit remain on account for future registration.

Firefighting Course Fee Refunds

Refunds for Firefighting will be made as follows:

  • Up to 7 calendar days before the published first day of the term/semester - full refund
  • Less than 7 days before the published first day of the term/semester - full refund less an administrative charge of $25
  • On or after the published first day of term/semester - no refund

Cruise Course Fee Refunds

Students who did not attend and formally drop the course prior to the published TSGB Cruise Begins date will be issued appropriate refunds based upon the following refund schedule:

  • Up to 30 calendar days before the published TSGB Cruise Begins date - full refund of applicable fees and tuition
  • From 30 to 15 calendar days before the published TSGB Cruise Begins date - refund of applicable fees and tuition less an administrative charge of $50
  • Less than 15 calendar days before the published TSGB Cruise Begins date - refund of applicable fees and tuition less an administrative charge of $100
  • On or after the publised TSGB Cruise Begins date - No refund

Students who are not entitled to a refund as listed under the Title V that provides for late request for refund may submit a Petition for Waiver of Financial Regulations for exceptional circumstances. The Registration Appeals Committee wil review and make a recommendation to authorize a refund if the Committee determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the University. A $250 administrative fee will be deducted from the authorized refund for late drop/withdrawal on or after the published TSGB Cruise begins date.

The Office of the Registrar must certify that the student did not attend cruise.

Visiting students enrolled through Extended Learning and Concurrent Enrollment who officially drop the course and do not attend cruise:

  • Non-refundable fees include drug testing and document fee

International Experience Course Fee Refunds

Students who did not attend and formally drop the course prior to the publised 1st day of Summer term will be issued appropriate refunds net of the non-refundable deposit and other administrative refund fee including outstanding debts owed to the University.

  • The Office of the Registrar must receive a formal drop request before the published 1st day of the Summer term.
  • Students requesting a refund for late application due to unforeseeable circumstances must submit a completed Petition for Waiver of Financial Regulations with writtend supporting documentation to the Registration Appeals Committee to determine the merits of each specific case. The Registration Appeals Committee will review and make a recommendation to authorize a refund if the Committee determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the University.
  • The Office of the Registrar, Financial Aid Office, and Accounting Office will audit refund requests before refunds are processed.

Welding and Manufacturing Lab Fee Refunds

Full refund is issued for those students who formally drop the class prior to the published 1st day of the academic term. No refunds will be made for drops submitted on or after the 1st day of the term.

MT Lab Fee Refund

Refunds are made only for students who did not attend cruise and who formally dropped the course prior to the published TSGB Cruise Begins. No refunds will be made for drops submitted or when a studetn leaves the ship on or after the publised TSGB Cruise Begins date.

Refunds of Other University Fees

1.0  Parking Permit Refunds

Parking on campus is by permit only. Requests for refunds must be submitted in the same semester as the permit was issued. Refunds are prorated from the start of the semester to the date the permit is returned based on the schedule provided by The CSU Chancellor’s Office Parking Fee and Refund Schedule. Additional information may be obtained from the Public Safety Office.

2.0  Housing and Food Service Refunds

Housing and Food service refunds are processed according to the terms of the Housing License Agreement. After the 60% point of the semester, no refunds are made. Students desiring to live off-campus must submit a petition for off-campus housing to the Director of Housing and Residence Life for approval by the published due date. Additional information may be obtained from the Housing office.

California State University Maritime Academy will return any unearned tuition assistance funds on a prorate basis through at least the 60% porition of the period for which the funds were provided.

Determination of Residency for Tuition Purposes

University requirements for establishing residency for tuition purposes are independent from those of other types of residency, such as for tax purposes, or other state or institutional residency. These regulations were promulgated not to determine whether a student is a resident or non-resident of California, but rather to determine whether a student should pay University fees on an in-state or out-of- state basis. A resident for tuition purposes is someone who meets the requirements set forth in the Uniform Student Residency Requirements. These laws governing residency for tuition purposes at the California State University are California Education Code sections 68000-68085, 68120-68133, and 89705-89707.5, and California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Subchapter 5, Article 4, sections 41900- 41916. This material can be viewed by accessing the Office of General Counsel website at www.calstate.edu/GC/resourcs.shtml.

Each campus’ Admissions Office is responsible for determining the residency status of all new and returning students based on the Application for Admission, Residency Questionnaire, Reclassification Request Form, and, as necessary, other evidence furnished by the student. A student who fails to submit adequate information to establish eligibility for resident classification will be classified as a non-resident.

Residency Requirements

Initial Determination: Eligible Immigration Status, Physical Presence and Intent

A student seeking to pay in-state tuition at a California State University (CSU) as a first-time freshman, transfer, or as a post-baccalaureate/graduate student must have an eligible immigration status to establish residency (see Immigration Information), meet physical presence by the Residence Determination Date, and demonstrate intent to indefinitely remain in the State of California for more than one year immediately preceding the Residence Determination Date. If the student is under the age of 19 (with limited exceptions), the student’s residence status is derived from that of the parent or from that of the legal guardian.

Requirements for Residency for Tuition Purposes

Physical Presence: The student or parent/guardian must be physically present in California for more than one year immediately preceding the Residence Determination Date in which enrollment is contemplated. For example, if a student plans to attend the CSU for the Fall 2023 academic term, and the Residence Determination Date for that term is September 20, 2022, the student must establish physical presence in California no later than September 19, 2022.

Intent: California law stipulates the burden of proof rests with the student, and merely living in California for a year does not support a claim for residency for tuition purposes. The student, or in some cases a parent or legal guardian, must demonstrate intent to remain indefinitely in the state for more than one year immediately preceding the Residence Determination Date (RDD) and sever all residential ties with the former state or country of residence. If the student is under the age of 19, the student’s residence status is derived from that of the parent or legal guardian unless an exception applies. There must be sufficient documentation to demonstrate that intent was established more than one year (a minimum of one year and one day) before the RDD.

Documents must include the student’s name, the student’s California address, and a date at least one year and one day prior or on the RDD for the term. For students under the age of 19, documents must be in the parent or legal guardian’s name unless an exception applies. Also, a parent or legal guardian’s immigration status does not preclude a student from establishing residency; therefore, the parent or legal guardian is not required to provide any immigration documents to demonstrate intent.

Evidence demonstrating intent may vary from case to case but will include, and is not limited to, the absence of residential ties to any other state, California voter registration and voting in California elections, maintaining California vehicle registration and driver’s license, maintaining active California bank accounts, filing California income tax returns and listing a California address on federal tax returns, owning residential property or occupying or renting a residence where permanent belongings are kept, maintaining active memberships in California professional or social organizations, and maintaining a permanent military address and home of record in California.

Immigration Information

A student seeking to pay in-state tuition at a CSU as a first-time freshman, transfer, or as a post-baccalaureate/graduate student must have an eligible immigration status to establish residency. Therefore, the student must be a United States citizen, a permanent resident (Green Card holder), or hold an eligible visa status (see list). If a student does not qualify as a California resident, the student may be eligible for certain exceptions and exemptions.

Nonimmigrant Statuses and Other Categories that are Eligible to Establish California Residency for Tuition Purposes

The Immigration and Nationality Act allows individuals in certain nonimmigrant statuses to establish permanent residency in the United States. Therefore, they are entitled to establish California residency for tuition purposes. For a complete list of eligible visas and other eligible categories, review the nonimmigrant list Students must hold an eligible visa status at least one year before the Residence Determination Date (RDD) to be eligible to establish California residency for tuition purposes.

Students in the category of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) or Temporary Protected Status (TPS) are also eligible to establish residency for tuition purposes. Also, students who are adjusting their immigration status, such as asylum, may qualify for residency depending on where they are in the application process.

Most nonimmigrant visa holders, such as an F-1 or J-1 visa holder, are not eligible to establish California residency for tuition purposes. Students with a visa or without an immigration status should contact the university Admissions Office.

Exceptions

Exceptions to the general residency requirements are contained in California Education Code sections 68070-68085 and California Code of Regulations, Title 5, Subchapter 5, Article 4, sections 41906- 41906.6, 41910 Whether an exception applies to a particular student can only be determined after the submission of an application for admission and, as necessary, additional supporting documentation. Because neither the university nor Chancellor’s Office staff may give advice on the application of these laws, applicants are strongly urged to review the material for themselves and consult with a legal advisor.

Residency determination dates are set each term. They are:

QUARTER CSUs SEMESTER CSUs
Fall September 20 Fall September 20
Winter Janaury 5 Winter* January 5
Spring April 1 Spring January 25
Summer July 1 Summer June 1

 


Reclassification - Financial Independence (only applies to continuing students).

A student classified as a nonresident for a prior term may seek reclassification in any subsequent term; however, reclassification requires that, in addition to satisfying the requirements of physical presence and intent to remain indefinitely in the state, the student must also satisfy the requirement of financial independence as outlined in Title 5 CCR § 41905.5. To do so, the student must contact the appropriate person in the university admissions office and complete a Residency Questionnaire Form and provide supporting documents.

41905.5 Residence Reclassification - Financial Independence Requirement

  • Any nonresident student requesting reclassification to resident for tuition purposes must demonstrate financial independence
  • Student has not and will not be claimed as an exemption for state and federal tax purposes by his/her parent in the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification application
  • Student has not and will not receive more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750) per year in financial assistance from his/her parent in the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification application
  • Student has not lived and will not live for more than six weeks in the home of his/her parent during the calendar year the reclassification application is made and in any of the three calendar years prior to the reclassification application
  • Note: Students who receive a government scholarship and/or financial assistance should be viewed the same as state and federal financial aid, and athletics grants-is-aid; and should not be counted as parental support.
  • Effective Fall 2020 academic term, if the student meets at least one of the following criteria, the student does not have to meet the financial independence requirement. Student must provide the university admissions office supporting documents (e.g. state income tax returns, court documents, marriage certificate, military order form) that demonstrate they meet the criteria:
    • Dependent on a parent who has California residence for more than one year immediately preceding the residence determination date;
    • Enrolled in a graduate or post‐baccalaureate program, regardless of age;
    • Turned 24 years of age by the residence determination date;
    • Married or registered domestic partner as of the residence determination date;
    • Active duty members serving in the U.S Armed Forces
    • Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces
    • Legal dependent other than spouse or registered domestic partner
    • Former ward of the court, foster youth or both parents are deceased
    • Declared by a court to be an emancipated minor or
    • Unaccompanied youth who is homeless or at risk of becoming homeless

Residency Appeals

Students classified as non-residents may appeal a final campus decision within 30 days of notification by the university. Appeals will be accepted only if at least one of the following criteria applies:

1.

  1. The decisions was based on:
    1. A significant error of fact by the university;
    2. A significant procedural error by the university; or
    3. An incorrect application of the law which, if corrected would require that the student be reclassified as a California resident; and/or
    4. Significant new information, not previously known or available to the student, became available after the date of the university decision classifying the student as a nonresident and based on the new information, the classification as a nonresident is incorrect.

Instructions to submit an appeal and additional information can be found at California Residency for Tuition Purposes website.

Appeals via email, fax and U.S. mail will not be accepted. A student with a documented disability who is requesting an accommodation to submit an appeal through the California State University (CSU) website should contact Student Affairs and Enrollment Management at residencyappeals@calstate.edu.

The office of the Chancellor will either decide the appeal or send the matter back to the university for further review.

A student incorrectly classified as a resident or incorrectly granted an exception from nonresident tuition is subject to reclassification as a nonresident or withdrawal of the exception and subject to payment of nonresident tuition in arrears. If incorrect classification results from false or concealed facts, the student may also be subject to discipline pursuant to Section 41301 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations. A student previously classified as a resident or previously granted an exception is required to immediately notify the Admissions Office if the student has reason to believe that the student no longer qualifies as a resident or no longer meets the criteria for an exception.

Changes may have been made in the rate of nonresident tuition and in the statutes and regulations governing residency for tuition purposes in California between the time this information is published and the relevant residency determination date. Students are urged to review the statutes and regulations stated above. 

AVERAGE SUPPORT COST PER FULL-TIME EQUIVALENT STUDENT AND SOURCES OF FUNDS

The total support cost per full-time equivalent student (FTES) includes the expenditures for current operations, including payments made to students in the form of financial aid, and all fully reimbursed programs contained in state appropriations. The average support cost is determined by dividing the total cost by the number of FTES. The total CSU 2022-23 budget amounts were $4,589,590,000 from state General Fund (GF) appropriations, before a $(68.5) million CalPERS retirement adjustment, $2,446,491,000 from gross tuition revenue, and $672,655,000 from other fee revenues for a total of $7,708,736,000. The 2022-23 resident FTES target is 383,680 and the nonresident FTES based on past-year actual is 19,953 for a total of 403,633 FTES. The GF appropriation is applicable to resident students only whereas fee revenues are collected from resident and nonresident students. FTES is derived by dividing the total student credit units attempted by a fixed amount depending on academic level (e.g., 30 for a semester university and 45 for a quarter university, the figures that define a full-time undergraduate or postbaccalaureate student’s academic load).

2022-23

Amount

Average Cost per FTES

Percentage

State Appropriation (GF) 1

$ 4,589,590,000

$ 11,962

59.6%

Gross Tuition Revenue 2

$ 2,446,491,000

$ 6,061

31.7%

Other Fees Revenue 2

$ 672,655,000

$ 1,667

8.7%

Total Support Cost

$ 7,708,736,000

$ 19,690

100%

 

  1. Represents state GF appropriation in the Budget Act of 2022-23; GF is divisible by resident students only (383,680 FTES).
  2. Represents CSU Operating Fund, gross tuition and other fees revenue amounts submitted in university September 2022-23 final budgets. Revenues are divisible by resident and nonresident students (403,633 FTES).

The 2022-23 average support cost per FTES based on GF appropriation and tuition fee revenue only is $18,023 and is $19,960, which includes all fee revenue (e.g., tuition fees, application fees, and campus mandatory fees) in the CSU Operating Fund. Of this amount, the average tuition and other fee revenue per FTES is $7,728.

The average CSU 2022-23 academic year, resident, undergraduate student basic tuition and other mandatory fees required to apply to, enroll in, or attend the university is $7,520 ($5,742 tuition fee plus $1,778 average campus-based fees). However, the costs paid by individual students will vary depending on the university, program, and whether a student is part-time, full-time, resident, or nonresident.